Team Maharashtra defeated Team Mumbai in Vijay Hazare Trophy


vijay hazare trophy

The Ranji One Day Trophy, popularly known as Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament started from 6th November, 2014. The trophy is named after the famous Indian Cricketer Vijay Hazare and currently it is in its 13th season.

According to the format of the tournament, 27 Ranji teams which are split into 5 zonal groups (Central, East, North, South & West) play the match within their groups. The 5 winners along with the best performing runner-up get qualified for the quarter finals.

The West Zone consists of Team Gujarat, Team Baroda, Team Mumbai, Team Maharashtra & Team Saurashtra.  Team Mumbai won their first match against Saurashtra by 2 wickets & later won the match against Baroda by 4 runs. While Team Maharashtra lost both the matches with Gujarat as well as Baroda. However, Maharashtra successfully defeated Mumbai by 6 wickets on 12th November, 2014.

Mumbai opted for batting first were they bowled out 211 in 44.2 overs with Wasim Jaffer top-scoring with 84, while pacer Dominic Joseph grabbed six for 25 in 8.2 overs. Akhil Herwadkar scored 44 and Suryakumar Yadav scored 40. While, Maharashtra knocked off the runs in 48 overs with Ankit Bawne 78 not out. It was seamer Joseph, who was the hero for Maharashtra as they lost eight wickets for 100 runs from a relatively comfortable position of 111 for two. Jaffer and Herwadkar added 79 runs for the second wicket which by far was the best partnership of the innings. However, it was Surya as he hit 40 in 25 balls with four boundaries and two sixes.

Though Maharashtra won the match but the score wasn’t that high!